Personal Property, Manufactured Home, and Real Estate Tax Collections

2015 Rates

Manufactured Home Tax

Mobile and manufactured home taxes are due March 1st and July 31st. These bills reflect current year taxes. Currently, Williams County will accept payment by cash, check, or credit card (by calling 1-800-463-8920 or visit Point and Pay). For personal service, payments are accepted in our office Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM until 4:30 PM.

Delinquent bills are mailed in September. The Auditor will prepare a listing of delinquent taxpayers for publication to local newspapers.

Ohio's Manufactured and Mobile Home Laws have changed recently. The law allows for different methods of taxation. They are the Depreciation Method and the Appraised Method.

Penalty and Interest Dates:

 

 

 

Additional Manufactured Home Programs:

Homestead Exemption
This exemption gives a tax discount to people over 65 years of age or totally disabled people. For additional information on relief of tax burden, please contact the County Auditor's office at (419) 636-5639. Deadline for filing is the 1st Monday in June.

 

Board of Revision
If you feel your property is valued too high, you may file an appeal with the Board of Revision. (Ohio Revised Code § 5715-19). You must file with the County Auditor's office between January 1st and March 31st.

 

Delinquent Contract Plan
We offer a payment plan for those who are delinquent in their Manufactured or Mobile Home taxes. Please contact the Treasurer's Office at (419) 636-1850 if you are interested.

 

 

 

Real Estate Tax

Real Estate tax bills are generally due February 15th and July 20th. Real estate tax bills are mailed twice a year and are always a year behind. Currently, Williams County accepts cash, check or credit card (by calling 1-800-463-8920 or visit Point and Pay) as payment for taxes. The taxpayer is also able to pay their taxes by automatic withdrawal from their bank account either semi-annually or monthly. For personal service, we accept payments in our office Monday – Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.

WATCH WHEN YOU PAY TAXES THROUGH YOUR MORTGAGE COMPANY. Approximately 30% of Williams County taxpayers pay their taxes through their mortgage company. This works well until their mortgage is paid off. If you recently paid your house off and did not receive a real estate tax bill, please call our office. If you recently refinanced with another lender, review all the closing statements carefully. Some lenders do not have the ability to collect taxes and insurance with the payment. When changes occur the lender must notify us in writing. If you should be receiving a tax bill and don't receive one in January or June, call our office immediately.

Delinquent bills are mailed in September. The Auditor will prepare a listing of delinquent taxpayers for publication to local newspaper.

The taxpayer is ultimately responsible for taxes and can be charged penalty and interest if payment is late.

Penalty and Interest Dates

 

 

Additional Real Estate Programs:

Homestead Exemption: This exemption gives a tax discount to people over 65 years of age or totally disabled people. For additional information on relief of tax burden, please contact the County Auditor's office at 419-636-5639. Deadline for filing is the 1st Monday in June.

 

Board of Revision: If you feel your property is valued too high, you may file an appeal with the Board of Revision. (Ohio Revised Code Section 5715.19) You must file with the County Auditor's Office between January 1st and March 31st.

 

Delinquent Contract Plan: This payment plan provides taxpayers with a vehicle for the payment of delinquent taxes while maintaining payment of current tax billings. The plan was developed to assist taxpayers who have been faced with financial problems and find themselves with delinquent tax balances. Taxpayers can now avoid foreclosure actions with the availability of this plan. Please contact Vickie at 419-636-1850 in the Treasurer’s office if you are interested. If you go on a delinquent contract and miss a payment, the contract will be void and foreclosure proceedings will continue.

 

 

 

HOW ARE MY TAXES CALCULATED?

Two factors establish the amount of taxes you pay.

1st - The primary factor is the market value of your property. The County Auditor assesses your property according to market value not historical cost. Every six years your property will be re-appraised. The next reappraisal will be 2018 (payable in 2019) and the next triennial update will be 2015 (payable in 2016).

2nd - The second factor is the levies or additional taxes that the voters choose to pay in order to receive additional benefit or service.

 

How to calculate your real estate taxes example:

This example illustrates a residential property in the City of Bryan with a market value of $100,000.

To compute the taxable or assessed value, multiply the market value (1) times 35%.

To compute the gross taxes, divide the taxable rate ($79.45) by 1000 and multiply the factor by the taxable value ($35,000).

Multiply the gross taxes by the reduction factor of 31.8178 to compute the tax reduction.

Subtract the tax reduction from the gross taxes to compute the taxes before non-business and owner occupancy credits.

Multiply the total from step (5) by 8.5457% to compute the non-business credit.

Multiply the total from step (5) by 2.1364½% to compute the owner occupancy Credit.

Subtract the amounts computed in steps (6) and (7) from the total computed in step (5) to compute the net taxes due.

SAMPLE: BRYAN CITY VOTED MILLAGE = 79.45

1. Market Value of Property

$100,000

2. Taxable Value

(35% of Market Value)

$ 35,000

3. Gross Real Estate Taxes

($35,000 x .07945)

$ 2,781

4. Less: Tax Reduction

($2,781 x 31.8178%)

$ (885)

5. Subtotal

$ 1,896

6. Less: 10% Non-Business Credit

($1,896 x 8.5457%)

$ (162)

7. Less: 2 1/2% Owner Occupancy Credit

($1,896 x 2.1364%)

$ (41)

8. Net Taxes Due

$1,693

 Net taxes due does not include any "Special Assessments" applicable to your property.

* To receive the owner occupancy credit the owner of the property must reside in the home. This reduction is based on your home and one acre. Contact the Auditor's office for an application. Certain criteria exist.

** Homestead Exemption - This exemption gives a tax discount to people over 65 years of age or totally disabled people. For additional information on relief of tax burden, please contact the County Auditor's office at 419-636-5639. Deadline for filing is the 1st Monday in June.

 

WHERE DOES MY MONEY GO?

Look at the example tax bill below under "Where Your Taxes Go" to see how much each organization receives.

 

The Tax Rate Sheet will give the breakdown on how the money collected is distributed. Below is a sample tax bill for the 1st half taxes of tax year 2013. According to the tax rate sheet for tax year 2013, the rates for Millcreek Twp-Millcreek School are as follows: School District – 58.80; Township – 3.90; County – 10.70; Vocational School – 3.20; Library – 1.00 = Real Estate Net Taxes Total Gross Rate 77.60.